Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

February 2, 2021

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leader Schumer:

As we continue to debate allocating limited resources to stimulate the economy, we write to bring your attention to costly tax breaks for so-called "net operating losses" that Republicans tucked into the CARES Act. These special-interest giveaways will confer over 80 percent of the benefits to just 43,000 taxpayers, each earning at least \$1 million per year. We urge you to repeal these unwarranted tax cuts, as HEROES and HEROES 2.0 proposed and President Biden has recommended. This would save over \$250 billion, which should be repurposed to help Americans who have lost income due to the pandemic and its economic fallout.

According to <u>Mark Zandi</u>, chief economist of Moody's Analytics, NOL tax breaks are the least effective way to stimulate the economy of over 20 policies reviewed, generating just 27 cents of GDP for every dollar of federal cost. What's more, these ineffective giveaways benefit a narrow set of high-income taxpayers, including hedge funds, real estate developers, and likely the <u>Trump family</u>.

The Trump tax law placed temporary restrictions on NOL gimmicks in order to raise revenue for other tax cuts in the bill. These were among the few provisions of the Trump tax law that, standing alone, pushed the tax code in a progressive direction. We support restoring these limitations and making them permanent. Making them permanent alone could save the federal budget over \$100 billion.

The repeal of NOL limitations in the CARES Act had little to do with pandemic relief and arbitrarily rewards business owners who lost money before the pandemic began. Making matters worse, unlike the small business relief provided through the Paycheck Protection Program, these windfalls come with no strings attached to ensure they support payroll or critical business operations.

In addition to presenting immediate hardships, the COVID-19 pandemic has laid bare and magnified our nation's troubling economic inequality. Relief must address this inequality, not exacerbate it. The CARES net operating loss provisions will further worsen economic inequality by providing an average tax break of \$1.6 million to just 43,000 very high-income taxpayers. This is unacceptable, especially when compared to the limited relief most Americans have received.

We urge you to repeal the NOL giveaways by including sections 20301 and 20302 of the HEROES Act in the next COVID-19 relief legislation. Further, we ask that you repurpose these funds to provide relief for families struggling though this challenging time.

Sincerely,

Sheldon Whitehouse	Lloyd Doggett	Sherrod Brown	Rosa DeLauro	Steven Cohen
U.S. Senator	Member of Congress	U.S. Senator	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
	Elizabeth Warren		Tammy Baldwin	
	United States Senator		United States Senator	
	Richard Blumenthal		Angus S. King, Jr.	
	United States Senator		United States Senator	
	Edward J. Markey		Richard J. Durbin	
	United States Senator		United States Senator	
	Jeffrey A. Merkley		Jack Reed	
	United States Senator		United States Senator	
			D 10 1	
	Cory A. Booker		Bernard Sanders	
	United States Senator		United States Senator	
	Mazie K. Hirono		Christopher Murphy	
	United States Senator		United States Senator	
	Patrick J. Leahy		Brian Schatz	
	United States Senator		United States Senator	
	2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2		2 2 2 3 3 3 2 3 3 4 4 5 5	
	Amy Klobuchar		Jan Schakowsky	
	United States Senator		Member of Congress	
	Cinica States Schatol		Member of Congress	

Danny Davis Member of Congress Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Peter A. DeFazio Member of Congress Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Jerry Nadler
Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Peter Welch Member of Congress Ayana Pressley
Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress Grace Meng Member of Congress Alan Lowenthal Mark Pocan

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Mondaire Jones Gerry E. Connolly
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Marie Newman Mark DeSaulnier

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson Frank Pallone Jr.

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Ilhan Omar Member of Congress Member of Congress

Katie Porter Nydia M. Velázquez

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Pramila Jayapal
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Judy ChuBill FosterMember of CongressMember of Congress

James R. Langevin Adriano Espaillat
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress John B. Larson Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress Dwight Evans
Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Mike Doyle Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress Jake Auchincloss
Member of Congress

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

Don Beyer Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson Jr.

Member of Congress

Tim Ryan
Member of Congress

John Yarmuth Member of Congress Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress Diana DeGette

Member of Congress

John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Jim Cooper Member of Congress Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Andy Levin Member of Congress Lucille Roybal-Allard Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Al Green Member of Congress

Carolyn B. Maloney Member of Congress

Jerry McNerney Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon
Member of Congress

Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress Joaquin Castro Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams Member of Congress Jimmy Gomez

Member of Congress

Albio Sires Member of Congress Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

David Price Member of Congress Jamaal Bowman, Ed. D. Member of Congress

Jim Himes
Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Joe Neguse Member of Congress Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress Matt Cartwright
Member of Congress

Sean Casten
Member of Congress

Bobby L. Rush Member of Congress

Tom Malinowki Member of Congress Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress Hakeem Jeffries
Member of Congress

Adam Schiff Member of Congress

cc: Chairman Richard Neal and Chairman Ron Wyden